FACULTY » Organisation


The University of Vienna

The University of Vienna is one of the oldest universities in Europe. Founded in 1365 by the Habsburg Duke Rudolph IV, it is called “Alma Mater Rudolphina”. Today, with more than 4.000 teaching staff members and more than 86.600 students (WS 1997/98) enrolled in 190 departments, it is the largest university in Austria. Approximately 4.600 students graduate every year.

Faculty of Catholic Theology
Faculty of Protestant Theology
Faculty of Law Faculty of Business, Economics and Statistics
Faculty of Computer Science
Faculty of Historical- Cultural Sciences
Faculty of Philological- Cultural Sciences
Faculty of Philosophy and Educational Sciences
Faculty of Psychology
Faculty of Social Sciences
Faculty of Mathematics
Faculty of Chemistry
Faculty of Earth Sciences, Geography and Astronomy
Faculty of Physics
Faculty of Life Sciences
Centre for Translation Studies
Centre for Sports Sciences and University Sports

The faculties and institutes are spread across the city. The main building, simply called “The University” or “HauptgebĂ€ude”, is located on the Ringstraße in the centre of Vienna (underground line U2, station: Schottentor- UniversitĂ€t). The main building, which dates from the year 1883, houses all administrative offices and the main university library, as well as several departments and lecture halls. Under the arcades of its central courtyard the busts and memorials of a great number of illustrious members of the university are exhibited.

Registration procedures
Students should arrive several days before the actual start of the semester. This gives time to settle in and to become acquainted with the system. Many of the applications for practical exercises and for the introductory lectures take place during the first days of the semester! Students who arrive late could miss application deadlines. Registration of ERASMUS - students is done trough the International Office in a special Orientation Session (mentioned at the end of this brochure) at the beginning of each semester.
For registration please consult the Welcome Guide provided by the BĂŒro fĂŒr Internationale Beziehungen.

There are two different types of housing: rooms in halls of residence or private accommo-dation. The Austrian Academic Exchange Service (ÖAD) is concerned with accommodation in halls of residence. On request they will try to find accommodation for exchange students. Students who wish to live in private accommo-dation will be given addresses of persons who sub-let rooms or apartments to students at the BĂŒro fĂŒr Int. Beziehungen. Students who do not have an accommodation when they arrive, could temporarily stay in a youth hostel.

Organizational and other information about the content of the studies in Vienna is available from the person in charge of the ERASMUS programme at each institute (only academic information: lectures, learning agreement, etc) and the International Office of the University of Vienna (registration, housing, insurance, orientation session, etc). ERASMUS students can also consult the International Office of the student organization (the Österr. HochschĂŒlerschaft- ÖH), the student representation of the University of Vienna or the Viennese group of the European Law Students Association - ELSA.

The Faculty Library
The relevant literature is available to students as well as professors in the faculty library. It is mainly a reading library, only a few books are allowed to be taken home at the so-called "Lehrbuchsammlung". In order to use the library and to borrow books, students have to get a grey membership card. This is only possible in combination with the student identity card. The grey membership card is issued by the library staff, where students can get further information.